AMAPRO 2022: Players From The NNL Showed Why Their League Is Truly The Most Important League In Nigeria Beating Some NPFL Best At The Final To Retain Trophy


AMAPRO Football Championship defending champions, NNL All Stars showed all and sundry that their winning the trophy in the last edition was no fluke as they overcame their superior league colleagues in the final to make it twice in a bounce.

The final, which was played at the magnificent Main Bowl of the Kwara State Stadium in presence of passionate football fans and some major football stakeholders in Nigeria, saw NNL All Stars emerging champions, beating NPFL All Stars 3-2 on penalties after the regulation time score ended 1-1.

Wasiu Alalade put NPFL All Stars ahead in the 14th minute after a poor defending from the NNL All Stars defence.

Owolabi Aremu climbed highest inside the NPFL All Stars 18 yard box to head home the equalizer in the 53rd minute.

The defending Champions, NNL All Stars made sure they retained the trophy after coming out victorious in the penalty shootouts, coming tops 3-2 to cart home the giant trophy.

It would be recalled that NNL All Stars, who are gradually making the AMAPRO Football Championship their fortress, lost only one match to Jazzy Stars Football Club on their way to winning the trophy for the second time in a bounce.

Jazzy Stars FC beat NNL All Stars 1-0 in the first group match.

A visibly happy and fulfilled brain behind this scouting tournament, Shogo Shodunnke, said apart from the fact that the standard of play was higher compared to the last edition, the European scouts brought on ground to fish out some exceptional talents were impressed and soonest some players picked will be signing the dotted lines for foreign clubs abroad.

Shogo continues: “I must thank all that made this year’s edition a success. To God Almighty first, the Kwara State Sports Ministry, Kwara State Football Association, Kwara State referees council, the coaches, the players, the media, the fans and all that made this event a success. Let’s still do it and better next year.”

Sixteen teams from across various States like Plateau, Kaduna, Niger, Lagos, Osun, and the host, Kwara partook in this year’s edition.


  1. A commendable scouting programme. Good outing for Jazzy Statrs.
    Congratulations to the NNL All-Stars for retaining the trophy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here