Fireworks expected as Amapro Football Championship gets kickoff date


The annual Amapro Football Championship which has now become a constant feature in preparing players for the new football season is put together by a well-known Sports Brand, Phreestyle Sports.

This year’s version will be the seventh edition of the tournament with professional and amateur players expected to take part.

Competition will hold from 8th to 14th August.

According to the Chief Executive Officer of the brand, Shogo Shodunnke, the tournament will see 16 teams participating.

Under the auspices of the Kwara State Football Association, AMAPRO has grown in status over the years due to large number of quality players and teams participating and the proper management of the tournament by its organisers.

Shodunnke revealed that this year’s edition which would take place in Ilorin, Kwara (as usual). The competitionwould look to be an improvement on the high standard to the previous editions.

“We are expecting teams from near and far, in and out of Kwara State to participate in the competition this year and we promise to leave no stone unturned in ensuring that teams get the right platform to express their talents and that fans get the opportunity of watching the future stars of the country,” Shodunnke stated.

He further confirmed that Football scouts and agents from Europe are expected to be in Kwara to watch this year’s edition.

Shodunnke, a FIFA trained Sports Manager has been widely applauded by fans and participating clubs for his tireless efforts in organising the competition which has produced young players that are currently playing their trade at the top level both home and abroad.

NPFL All Stars, Jazzy Stars, Terwoh Sports Club, Tiyu Football Academy, AMAPRO Selected, NLO All Stars, NNL All Stars, Abraysport FC, Kwara Football Academy and Dickalo Football Academy have confirmed their readiness for the competition.

The partners of the seventh edition of Amapro Football Competition are Kwara State Sports Commission, Kwara State Football Association, Kwara Football Academy, Excel All Stars, Cyteck Engineering, Afribase Nig Ltd, Afase Nig Ltd, TSTV, Dickalo Nig. Ltd and Abraysport.

Further information on the competition can be gotten from 08033408685.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here